o Request Information
REQUEST INFORMATION

REQUEST INFORMATION

Please fill out this form and submit it to request more information

Transfer Applicants

  1. Home
  2.  | 
  3. Prospective Students
  4.  | Transfer Applicants

Transfer Applicants

Questions? Email Us

Western State College of Law welcomes students who are in good standing at another ABA accredited or California Bar Examiners law school.

Note: Applicants who have been academically disqualified or dismissed from another ABA accredited or California Bar Examiners law school may not restart as a first year law student until one year (two full semesters) after the date of disqualification or dismissal.

 

What To Submit

  1. Application – We only accept electronic applications submitted through the Law School Admission Council (LSAC).
  2. There is no application fee for fall of 2020
  3. Credential Assembly Service (CAS) – Applicants must order a CAS report to be sent to Western State.
  4. Personal Statement – Submit a personal statement including your reason(s) for seeking transfer to Western State.
  5. Transcripts – Submit an official transcript of your completed law school coursework to LSAC. In addition, all admitted students must have an official transcript showing a Bachelor’s degree (or equivalent) earned sent from their college to LSAC’s Credential Assembly Service (CAS) prior to matriculation.
  6. Letter of Standing – Letter from the Dean or Registrar at the law school you have attended indicating that you are in good standing, eligible to return and that there are no disciplinary actions pending or currently on file.
  7. Letters of Recommendation – Two letters of recommendation are required to be submitted through the LSAC Letter of Recommendation Service. LSAC forwards letters of recommendation to Western State once a week. Please do not send duplicate letters directly to Western State. If necessary, letters of recommendation may also be sent directly to Western State from the recommender. Recommendations from law professors are strongly recommended.
  8. Resume – A resume is optional but highly recommended.
  9. Diversity Statement optional
  10. Addenda – As required.

Maximum Semester Units Allowed to Transfer

  • ABA approved law school: 43 units
  • CBE approved law school: 29 units

Class standing and grade point averages for Western State are computed solely on the basis of grades achieved while matriculated to Western State.

Transfer admittance is a two-step process. First, the full application is reviewed by the Admission Committee. Once the candidate is admitted, the prior law school transcript is evaluated by the Academic Dean and Registrar. The number of units accepted in transfer is determined in line with Western State’s academic policy.

 

FALL 2020 START

2019

  • December – Applications available on LSAC for Fall (August) starting class

2020

  • April 6 – $300 first commitment deposit due from admitted students
  • June LSAT – Last LSAT considered for Fall applicants
  • June 1 – $200 second commitment deposit due from admitted students
  • June 15th – Last day to apply for Fall (August) term
  • Saturday, August 8, 2020

Orientation Mandatory (for all entering students)

  • Monday, August 10-14, 2020 Pre-Fall Term (Introduction to Legal Methods Prep) mandatory for new entering students
  • Friday, August 14, 2020 New Student Swearing-in
  • Thursday, August 20, 2020 Fall Main Term Classes Begin

SPRING 2021 START

2020

  • September 1 – Applications available on LSAC for Spring (January) starting class
  • October LSAT – Last LSAT considered for Spring applicants
  • October 15 – Priority deadline for admission and scholarship consideration for Spring term
  • November 2 – $300 commitment deposit due from admitted students
  • December 1 – Last day to apply for Spring (January) term

2021

  • January – Spring term starts
  • Orientation for new students January 9, 2021
  • Pre-Spring Term new students only January 11-15, 2021
  • Main Term Classes, January 19, 2021

Founded in 1966, Western State College of Law is the oldest law school in Orange County, Southern California, and is fully ABA approved. Western State College of Law’s 11,000+ alumni are well represented across public and private sector legal practice areas, including 150 California judges and about 15% of Orange County’s Deputy Public Defenders and District Attorneys.

Programs, credential levels, technology and scheduling options are subject to change. Western State College of Law at Westcliff University, 16715 Von Karman, #100, Irvine, CA 92606 © 2020 Western State College of Law. All rights reserved. Our email address is materialsreview@wsulaw.edu.

See wsuprograms.info for program duration, tuition, fees and other costs, median debt, salary data, alumni success, and other important info.