How to Apply
FIRST TIME APPLICANT
Questions? Email Us
Applicants must complete their 4 year undergraduate degree from an accredited College before starting law school. International students should work with the Law School Credential Assembly Service to prove they have earned a degree equivalent to that of an American 4 year college degree.
Note: Applicants who have been academically disqualified or dismissed from another ABA accredited or California Bar Examiners law school may not restart as a first year law student until one year (two full semesters) after the date of disqualification or dismissal.
WHAT TO SUBMIT
- Application – We only accept electronic applications submitted through the Law School Admission Council (LSAC).
- There is no application fee for this year!
- Credential Assembly Service (CAS) & LSAT – Applicants must register with LSAC’s Credential Assembly Service (CAS), take the Law School Admission Test (LSAT), and pay the appropriate fees to LSAC. For more information regarding LSAT test dates and registration, visit www.lsac.org.
- Personal Statement – Although academic history and the LSAT score are very important in the application review process, the personal statement is a vital factor as well. The personal statement should be no more than three pages, typed and double-spaced. In the personal statement, you should focus on your accomplishments, skills, experiences and motivation that indicate potential for success in law school. Include any information such as extracurricular activities, career plans, leadership ability, or anything else that will help the Admissions Committee gain a clear and accurate picture of you as an individual.
- Transcripts – All applicants must register for the LSAC’s Credential Assembly Service (CAS) in order for us to access undergraduate and/or prior graduate degree transcripts. For more information about the CAS, please call (215) 968-1001 or visit www.LSAC.org.
- Letters of Recommendation – Two letters of recommendation are required to be submitted through the LSAC Letter of Recommendation Service. LSAC forwards letters of recommendation to Western State once a week. Please do not send duplicate letters directly to Western State. If necessary, letters of recommendation may also be sent directly to Western State from the recommender. Recommendations from professors are strongly recommended, especially if you have graduated with an undergraduate degree within the last five years.
- Resume – A resume is optional but highly recommended.
- Diversity statement optional
- Addenda – As required.
DATES & DEADLINES
For Spring 2022
November LSAT – Last LSAT considered for Spring applicants
December 1 – Last day to apply for Spring term
January 8 – Orientation for New Students
January 10-14 – Mandatory Introduction to Legal Methods Class
January 14 – Oath of Professionalism for New Students
January 18 – Spring Main Term Classes Begin
For Fall 2022
June LSAT – Last LSAT considered for Fall applicants
July 15 – Last day to apply for Fall term
Early August – Orientation for New Students
Early August – Mandatory Introduction to Legal Methods Class
Early August – Oath of Professionalism for New Students
Early August – Fall Main Term Classes Begin
Founded in 1966, Western State College of Law is the oldest law school in Orange County, Southern California, and is fully ABA approved. Western State College of Law’s 11,000+ alumni are well represented across public and private sector legal practice areas, including 150 California judges and about 15% of Orange County’s Deputy Public Defenders and District Attorneys.
Programs, credential levels, technology and scheduling options are subject to change. Western State College of Law at Westcliff University, 16715 Von Karman, #100, Irvine, CA 92606 © 2020 Western State College of Law. All rights reserved. Our email address is firstname.lastname@example.org.
See wsuprograms.info for program duration, tuition, fees and other costs, median debt, salary data, alumni success, and other important info.